St. John Indiana - Founded 1837
picture of St John hall

About the Town Council:

The five Town Council Members make policy decisions in accord with procedures and responsibilities set out in State law. The Town Manager carries out policies and directives of the Council.

Council Members have four-year terms, which are staggered so that four seats are filled by elections every four years. Town elections for Town Council are held in the second Tuesday in November.

The Town Council appoints several boards and commissions as well as various advisory committees and task forces which are created from time to time.

Regular Business Meetings

The Council have regular business meetings at 7 p.m. on the 4th Thursday of every month (except November and December) in the Council Chambers at Town Hall. There is only one November meeting held on the third Thursday. The December meeting(s) fluctuate, please check the Event Calendar for the date. Holidays and other events may affect the meeting schedule.

Citizens who speak at Council meetings are asked to make comments within 3 minutes as a courtesy to others. Written information may be presented to provide detailed information. For more information, please call the Town Managers office at 219-365-6465 option 1.

Public Hearings

The Council may hold public hearings on subdivision, zoning, special use and master land use plan proposals on the 4th Thursday of each. Holidays and other events may affect hearing dates.

The members of the Town Council are:

Christian J Jorgensen, President
Mark Barenie, Vice President
Michael S Forbes
Stephen Hastings
Gregory J Volk

To contact the Board please call the Town Manager's Office at (219)365-6465 x1 or click on the members name to send them an email.

Click here for a list of the minutes from the meetings.